Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your

Nowadays, the advertising business is an important activity that is primordial in our economy. There are two schools of thoughts, while one argued that advertising is a way to encourage the consumer society, others have the opinion that it is a practice that shows people how they can develop their lives through new products and technologies. I totally agree with the first point of view because it is a fact that advertising just promote the production of useless goods and through this our environment it is in danger.

To begin with, there are a positive opinion that claims that this diffusion of new products and technologies is a form to improve people’s life. Nowadays most of the population have better lives and advertising has an important role in the spread of how to acquire this appliances. A good illustration of this is how people are able to communicate among them faster and safe; additionally all this improvement has minimized the household tasks among families. In short, advertising it is an effective way to reach new technologies to people, bringing them a better quality life.

On the contrary, advertising through mass media is an effective way to maintain the current economic system. This situation has created an uncontrolled system of consumption that is based on disposable things. For instance, the current model is generating a huge environmental problem related with plastics in the sea, menacing directly sea-life and threatening fresh water to human consumption. Thus, this trend of advertising promoting massive shopping of a diverse variety of objects it has a negative impact in our environment.

To conclude, advertising can have a positive impact on people, allowing them to obtain modern advances to have more comfort. However, the uncontrolled production and promotion of goods are creating a dangerous scenery that currently is threatening our environment.