Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbishWhy do you think this is happening?What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

An urgent problem around the world is the huge production of garbage that our economic model generate day by day. In order to tackle this issue, it is important to identify the causes.

Nowadays, our consumption habits are the main factor of the uncontrolled production of rubbish around the world. The fashion of “use and throw” is the dominant tendency in the current global economy. For instance, more than 60% of families in USA discard they appliances like TVs, computers, tablets and smartphone after six months of usage, causing a direct increase of electronic garbage, that is a growing problem currently. In short, the are not awareness in society about the future consequences of these wastes in our environment.

On the other hand, our economy have an excessive utilization of plastic and that generate uncontrolled volume of wastes. In daily life, plastic is in everywhere, covering vegetables, clothes, and bread. There are not a public attention about how we do an excessive use of it For example, latest scientific research warn about the high levels of plastic in oceans and how that is menacing sea-life. Thus, the current plastic problem is not a worldwide concern because, despite there a lot of campaigns on mass media, people is still using plastic everyday without relevant behaviour changes.

In order to deal with this problem, governments have an important role to regulate the massive production of garbage through restrictive laws to industry. Additionally, it is primordial to run campaigns in schools and public spaces to aware people about the importance of recycling and reduce the use of plastics.

To conclude, the “use and throw” culture is the main cause of our excessive production of rubbish. Measures like obliged recycling and a well conducted education among people could be an important beginning to deal with this problem.