Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries.what are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

In many parts of the world, majority of the students are not taking science as their major subject. As the teenagers are not taking science, it would create lot of problems to the future development of society. Here I would address both the causes and remedies for the problem.

First and foremost, science is a demanding subject, the reason why most of the students do not take it. Because this subject requires a lot of hardwork and consumes much time and energy for completion of the projects. A survey conducted in 2011, in UK reported that stress is the preliminary source that is making the students not to opt for science as a major subject. However, they also suggested that proper stress management programs would help the students to deal with stress.

Secondly, as most of the students are not opting for science, it would not fill all the vacancies in a specialised post and so there will not be enough manpower to craft creative ideas, which will make the mankind suffer in future. Besides, most of the students who are not interested to work hard had chosen easier subjects like arts and management courses, which would imbalance the demand supply ratio in that particular field.

I conclude that stress is the major option for students not taking science as a major subject and proper scheduled counselling from experts would help the students to deal with the stress.