Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed What is the reason for doing this Is this a negative or positive development

It is not uncommon to see these days parents who have great expectations from their children in school and in sport as well. Some are worried that this attitude, despite good intentions, can indeed damage the children. On the other hand others claim that pressure is essential to prepare children for the foreseeable future. In this essay I will briefly compare those two opposite points of view and explain why I think that children should be free to develop themsleves without pressure.

Childhood is a sensitive age, where kids begin to discover the world around them, they make acquaintance with the surroundings and explore their interests. Sometimes parents interfere too much in this crucial phase putting excessive pressure on their offspring. They want them to be the smartest at school or the strongest at sport. They want them to be the best musician or the best actor. It occurs often to children that they attend a class or sign up for a sport only to accomplish their parents. Research suggests that this behaviour can be linked to the desire to see the children succeed where the parents failed. It is a huge mistake that can ensue burdensome damage to the children, who are forced by parents to do something they maybe do not like. I think therefore, that parents should encourage children to nurture their interest, whatever they are. For example, a child who discovers a passion for music should be allowed to play a musical instrument to fully develop his talent and maybe to become a famous singer.

On the other hand, there are many who claim that it is in the interest of the chidren to put pressure on them. They support this theory in the wake of the fact that the world does not anybody halfway and that they will have to be strong in order to success over the competitors. Pressure it is thus seen as a tool to forge the character of the children and to prepare them for the challenges of the future. There are some seeds of truth in this approach. It is true that competition can be very tough at school, at work and in sport and that only the best come over obstacles. Gaining the ability to face up to major problems it is also vital and one of the key ingredient to reach success.

Summing up, although I think that is right to prepare children for the challenges of the future I do not believe that is necessary to nip their dreams in the bud, constraining children to follow the failed dreams of their parents. Childhood is a unique season of life which should be spent playing, learning and discovering the world.