Nowadays people buy a lot of things even though they dont really need them.

Why is it happening, in your opinion?

Is it a positive or negative trend for the individual and the society?

In the concurrent world, people's habit of shopping is affected with the revolution of consumerization. With this line, it is observed by a vast section of society that numerous products are purchased irrespective of their needs. In my discourse ahead, the plausible causes behind this trend and my belief to consider it as negative development are discussed briefly.

To commence with, the preference of living materialistic lifestyle is one of the key reasons why millennials do unnecessary shopping. This is because that the young generation in particular has become more shopaholic and have tried to purchase things not only to satisfy needs but also to impress others to prove prosperity. Take for instance, according to a report published in the Toronto Times the unexpected upsurge of 20% in selling of four-wheelers by customers having already two or more cars was noticed by the association of vehicle wholesalers in 2019 compared to previous years. Thus, it seems apparent that the change in lifestyle leads to useless purchases.

According to me, it is clear to say that this notion is a negative development by looking towards its dire consequences on the community. In other words, owing to consumerization culture, the importance of money could not be understanded by the mass. Consequently, they may have to suffer from financial crises in the long run. The best illustration is a study conducted by the university of California revealed that the top economists of the word believed that the global economy would have inevitable effects because of over-consumption of people's wealth in shopping. Seen in this light, it has detrimental effects on both individual and society.

To conclude, although the customers are independent to spend money to fulfill the necessities of life, the current trend of

excessive shopping is observed and the valid reasons behind this are outlined above. By considering this negative trend's long term impact on economy, I would suggest that significant stringent measures should be taken.