Nowadays people have free access to music and films online. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Provide relevant examples from you own experience.

The internet and technology have not left a single aspect of our life untouched, especially the way we access music and films, which are now available to watch and listen from anywhere. In my opinion, if we examine its impact on individual and on society as a whole, it is a mixed blessing, whose effectiveness lies only in the way users used it.

To begin with, cost free multimedia has changed the face of entertainment industry by its recent advancements. When TV used to be only source of relaxation, people not only has to spend a lot of money but also was bounded to sit in front of it. On the other hand, online content comes at very free of cost and excellent quality, and provide platform to for new artists to show their potential, which was extremely difficult in the past and has revolutionized the whole film industry. For example, YouTuber all over the world are getting popular as result of diverse online market. Thus, viewer and the artists both are benefitted by the free online films and music.

However, it is not as lucrative as it sounds because it has some serious implication on our daily lives. Due to free access, people started spending a lot of their time in watching movies, which has impacted their productivity and made them lethargic. For example, on an average, people spend at least 2 hours on their devices to watch music and movie videos. In addition, it is impossible to prevent piracy on the internet, which has become a nightmare for the producers who have invested their fortune in the production of those films. Thus, the popularity on online movies is dangerous for individual as well as society.

In conclusion, people should not waste their time on free online videos. It is time to come up with better strategy to regulate its legal and illegal usage for the betterment of the community.