Nowadays some parents pressure their children to be successful.

What are the reasons for this?

Is it a positive or negative development?

Some parents usually mount pressure on their wards so that they can achieve success in future. It is because a few parents feel ashamed by the poor grades of their children. This leads to increased pressure on kids and causes serious mental issues.

Child success is the dream of every parent. Although all parents want their wards to achieve their set goals, a few complete their parent's dreams. Parents want their children to perform well in studies so that, when a moment comes they can proudly show off their ward mark sheet. Moreover, they also want a bright future for them in which they do not have to depend on others in other words they want them to be self-dependent. For instance, guardians do not want their kid to go through the same tight situations they had faced in past.

Mounting pressure on students from their families doesn't help for any cause because everyone has a different potential, for example, some students perform well in sports while others in arts. Indeed, it leads to serious mental issues as the child feel isolated and ashamed by poor performance. In these situations, they need support and motivation rather than punishment if results are not up to the mark. A recent study has revealed that this attitude of parents is leading to many mental disorders among school children.

To sum up, all parents want their children to be successful for a variety of reasons but putting pressure on them to do well is not beneficial for youngsters because it leads to mental issues among them at an early age.