Nowadays there is a growing trend of private car ownership. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages or environmental problems associated with this?

Opinions are divided on whether the benefits of owning a car outweigh its drawbacks. I believe that the environmental impact of this trend is too serious to support its advantage.

It is a widely held belief that private car ownership is preferable for various reasons, the most important of which relate to self-reliance and saving time. With regard to the former, car owners feel free to go wherever they want without having to restrict themselves to the vagaries of public transport, or to be dependent on others to drive them to their destination. As for saving time, they could choose an alternate route if there is congestion on road, which would not be possible otherwise with public transport. The truth is that they could save more time by driving on their own instead of setting their schedule as per the availability of public transport.

However, the above-mentioned advantages have been achieved at a significant environmental cost in terms of natural resource depletion and air pollution. As far as resource exhaustion is concerned, oil reserves are depleting rapidly, which means that this trend of private car ownership is exploiting more resources because most of the cars run on either petrol or diesel. Polluting air is another drawback of having more personal cars. Evidence of this can be seen in the fact that the harmful gases emitted from the combustion of fossil fuels lead to poor air quality and are directly associated with climate change.

In conclusion, although driving personal cars seems to be more convenient by saving time and being independent, it has an adverse environmental impact. For this reason, I believe that the disadvantages related to non-renewable resource deficiency and pollution are too severe to justify the advantages.