In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Other believe the money should be spent on improving public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Increase in population requires improved, efficient and safe mode of transportation. In many countries around the World, some people consider, influx of hefty amount of money in high-speed train lines between cities is need of the hour, while others think, other transportation infrastructures should be funded for improvements. I tend to discuss both school of thoughts and share my opinion.

In the first place, people who believe that adding high-speed train lines is the solution to cope-up with challenges posed by population growth in various countries, carry a lot of weight because growing house prices near cities has pushed people further away from cities. The best possible solution for those commuters to get to work is, through high-speed trains, leaving the driving to the professionals while spending their travel in doing something productive. For instance, outskirts of Sydney or Melbourne are spread over 80 kilometers and folks trying to reach their work might have to do a round trip travelling over 150 kilometers. Express trains, make life lot easier for those travelers also reducing the number of cars on roads.

However on the other hand, people who insist on investing more on roads and other public transport are the ones living close to the city and often opt to drive, catch a taxi or use bus to reach their work. They face more traffic bottlenecks, vowing to invest in road infrastructure to add more tunnels, signal-free intersections and overhead bridges to give them a smoother run. For example, people travelling on Eastern Freeway from south-eastern suburbs of Melbourne, experience about 10 kilometers long queues at the bottleneck of Punt Road and have been calling for east-west tunnel and over-head bridge on Punt Road from last decade. So, in some cases investing on road infrastructures really become inevitable.

From my perspective, both school of thoughts carry equal weight therefore huge investments need to be made in adding more express train lines as well as developing road infrastructure. By adding more train lines would help to decrease road traffic, helping the environment as well by exhausting less toxic gases in the air and more infrastructure would help to clear worst traffic jams.