In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Other believe the money should be spent on improving public transport.Discuss both these views

Whether investing huge capital on renovated high-speed train lines for hooking up the urban places or upgrading the existing traffic networks has triggered a series of debates among the concerning parties all over the world. From my perspective, I do consider the latter one outweighs the former.

For some proponents, they advocate that such investment may boost the local economies as well as facilitate commuters to travel to their workplaces. To begin with, new projects like this generally requires a great amount of investment. Given to this reason, building such a project could not only stimulate the increase of relating industries including steel, chemical, glass, machinery and so forth, but also encourage others like finance, tourism and more new occupations for either local dwellers or outlanders. The next point is that those who commuting across the cities might enjoy the convenience and efficiency brought in the wave of it. Because they could attribute more time saved up by high-speed trains on personal affairs, which is a huge blessing to them.

There are, however, some drawbacks shall never be ignored. On the one hand, though the above construction of infrastructures could incentivise the promotion of local economy in a short period, it is by no mean lasting for long. The investment is normally so far beyond the initial budget that it is impossible to produce enough profit so that the cost cannot be balanced. Simultaneously, ticket prices are not as affordable as those normal ones, leading to more burden on the public's shoulders.

That is why the improvement of the current transporting system is more practicable comparing with the above schemes. On the other hand, the existing technologies will definitely promote the efficiency of public transportation. For instance, utilizing virtual reality and AI can help discovery what are the main causes of the problems and provide proposals for the authorities. In this way, the relating departments will tailor optimal solutions accordingly to fully squeeze the potential of current networks. Apart from that, the cost will be considerably cheaper than investing high-speed trains. The whole project will take less time, equaling less trouble to disturb the normal routine of everyone. Furthermore, achievements will be no doubt realised without splashing huge sums of precious funds collected from the whole society, leaving no deficit on governmental account.

In conclusion, upgrading the public transport is doom to be more ideal than splashing money on high speed train rails.In the light of the above pros and cons, it is no wonder that the former decision is the preferred solution in favour of each individual around us.