One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you this the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

As with numerous other fields of science, the medical sciences are unprecedentedly flourishing. This has resulted in a noticeable boost to how long people do live. In my opinion, this progress is profoundly constructive and while it might bring about certain complications, the overall transition is towards a better life.

The past few decades have provided the medical society with outstanding means of treatment and hence has resulted in an elongated life for the populace. This development has bestowed upon the populace. Firstly, people get to relax more after retirement and enjoy their free time. Many hard workers in previous generations have had a very minute time after retiring due to the short life expectancy. As an instance of this, many countries are postponing retirement since the workforce are healthier at older age comparing to former generations. Secondly, the elderly will get the chance to interact more with their families and loved ones before passing away. This should be a cherished opportunity for the youth, as well as the grownups since it is a constructive and undeniably positive development. For example, I never got to see my maternal grandparents because of their death before my birth and I always envy not having the relationship. All in all, individuals and families benefit from the longer life expectancy on the counts of socialization and quality of life.

On the other hand, while not directly traced to the elongation of life, certain issues can suffer from this phenomenon. Considering the business world, with a higher age of retirement, vacancies would not be created to be filled with younger applicants. We witness the decline of graduates in countries with increasing life expectancy. Japan, for example, has regulated the exit policy for senior employees so that the new generations have a better chance of success in the business world. Moreover, in various cases, the sole fact of longer life expectancy does not suffice to qualify as an elevated quality of life. Staggering counts of elder patients whom are suffering from incurable diseases are merely kept alive with the assistance of cutting edge pharmaceuticals and devices, occasionally against their will. The single quality of being alive should not be considered as a fulfilling life and in some cases can be an abomination. As a tangible example, several countries around the world have issued a ban or specific regulations against extraordinary measures of resuscitation.

To conclude, I sincerely advocate the positivity of increased life expectancy. Although there are complications or unwanted byproducts to the trend, the overall progress if for the better and elevated the general lifestyle.