One way to solve the problem of congestion in cities is to build sky trains which run overhead rather than on or under the ground.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of using this solution to solve congestion?

In recent times, the surge in traffic congestion has become the most pressing issue of all pertaining to urban life. In this regard, one solution proposed, other than underpass, is to introduce sky-trains, which move lofted and high above the heads of people. Although the cost of building infrastructure for sky-train is too high, there are many advantages associated with it.

One evident benefit of building sky-trains is that they will not be affected by the traffic on roads; hence, they will be able to reach their destination in time, and, consequently, more people will use them as a mode of commute. Another reason that building sky-trains will be advantageous is that it will reduce the number of conflict points; as a result, chances of train accidents will plummet substantially. Consequently, it will make the train a safer mode of travel.

On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to building sky-trains. Firstly, building the infrastructure requires a hefty budget compared to the other solutions, which the developing countries cannot afford. For instance, sky-trains were introduced by the government of Pakistan in big cities, but it attracted a lot of criticism from the common people and the experts alike, as the people of Pakistan termed it as superfluous. According to the people, the folks are facing bigger problems, such as poverty and terrorism, and, hence, authorities should have used those resources to overcome such problems. Secondly, overhead-bridges are more prone to damage in natural disasters, such as hurricanes and earthquakes. Therefore, there will be an omnipotent threat to such infrastructures, resulting in exuberantly high repair and maintenance costs.

In conclusion, despite the disadvantages associated with building sky-trains, the safety they promise, along with other advantages, cannot be overlooked. The countries which can afford to build sky-trains should consider this solution to overcome the traffic congestion problems.