The only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offenses.

What extent do you agree or disagree?

So many people perish on road accidents all the time. Some people believe that the only option to make roads safer is by introducing tougher punishments for law breakers. Although raising the fines and throwing drivers to jail can be beneficial to some extent, I believe it is not enough to prevent fatal incidents.

On the one hand, current laws do not act as a deterrent for so many privileged citizens who can pay off the speeding tickets without getting affected by them. Nevertheless, speeding is the greatest cause of road accidents which could have been prevented if drivers who exceed the limit speed had faced severe consequences. Therefore, it is reasonable to assume that by establishing stricter laws for driving offences, such as imprisonment for those who repeatedly break the law, can send a loud message to the community that every action has its consequences and no one is above the law. Furthermore, punishments such as ceasing driving licenses of careless drivers which drive while they are drunk or under the influence of drugs can avoids potential catastrophes from occurring.

On the other hand, applying more serious punishments to driving offenders though has its own merits, it will not be sufficient to persuade individuals to abide by the law. Psychologists have conducted numerous research on drivers to determine the reason behind driving crimes. The results illustrated that people often are not aware of the dire outcomes of their actions while breaking the law. For example, lots of people who were fined due to surpassing the speed limit argued that their act of defiance would not harm anybody since they know how to handle their car. However, accident figures prove otherwise as most of the accidents resulted in passengers’ or pedestrians’ death were caused by drivers who used to pride themselves on their driving competencies. Hence, I believe educational program which raise people awareness can open people eyes and help them grasp the significance of what is on stake here, people's lives.

In conclusion, although by introducing serious punishment for driving offences roads would become safer, I strongly believe some awareness campaign can have a great impact on individuals to make them think twice before breaking a law.