In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby.

To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are considering shopping as their leisure activity. It is true that grocery purchase is a daily household job but I believe that this joint shopping activity will develop the relationship between family members and also among friends and also increase product awareness.

Shopping has become a hobby for many because shopping does not mean buying grocery, clothing and other accessories by one family member, it has become a weekly joint task for family members. More than that it has become a complete weekend outing for families to spend time together. Furthermore, nowadays, it is quite common among teenagers to get together in shopping malls. They spend lots of time shopping, window shopping and having quality time with their friends. In addition to the relaxation and quality time, the immense knowledge about each product the hobby shopper attain cannot be neglected. The shoppers study, discuss and understand the product before purchasing it.

On the other hand, making shopping as a leisure time activity has its disadvantages too. Spending on more than what is required is one of the main adverse effects of this hobby. While spending their time in the shopping malls, it is human nature to get attracted to the products displayed. This will create unnecessary expenses which could have avoided if the purchase was made at the local shops. Even if there is no active shopping, there will be some spending if spending time in malls becomes a leisure activity. For instance, a family spending time shopping may be compelled to buy food and drinks as children accompanying may be hungry. These types of extra expenses may affect the family budget slightly but the quality time spent together will make the family bond stronger.

To conclude, although there are few noticeable disadvantages in making shopping as a hobby, the family bond and the relaxation hobby shoppers is not hidden. Moreover, it helps shoppers understand the product better.