Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Some people argue that the government should invest in public services rather that art and theatre. They argue that arts such as music and theatre are not important for a society. I believe that both arts and public services have its own place in the development of a society.

On the one hand, the government should definitely allocate a large part of its budget in public services. Spending on public services such as transportation, educational institutions and medical facilities are important for the development of a country. Investment in such facilities will improve the living condition of the citizens. For example, any country can survive without music and theatre but without a good quality hospital and adequate medicine, people will have to suffer. This is the reason why it is said that investment in public services is necessary.

On the other hand, music and theatre is not a waste of money, since they are an integral part of a society’s cultural and intellectual development and amusement. Firstly, music and theatre are the foundation of society, or it can be said as a reflection of the cultural heritage of society. So, investing in such trait cannot be claimed as wastage. Moreover, promoting more people to learn such arts will have a positive impact on people’s intelligence and reduce the stress level. Both participant and viewer will be equally benefited because recent studies have proven that music has healing capacity. Lastly, it is a means of entertainment. People spend money to watch the show, music or theatre, this way whatever money is spend can be earned back. Thus, it is not a waste of money but in reality, it is an investment which will eventually payback.

To conclude, although I agree with the fact that it is highly important for a government to invest in the public services, I also believe that art and theater is also an integral part of the society, neglecting it completely will be not advisable. In fact, I opine that there should be proper funding in both sectors.