Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is often argued that the government should spend money on public services instead of spending its budget in arts like music and theatre. I agree that spending in public sector is important however I also believe that funding in arts is also crucial for society.

On the one hand, the government should definitely allocate a large part of its budget on public services. To begin with, public services such as transportation services, educational institutions and medical facilities play vital role in the development of a country. So, investment in such facilities will improve the living condition of the citizens. If, for instance, a society has shortage of well-equipped hospitals and advanced medicines then it will affect the health of the people who is living there. This is the reason why it is said that investment in public services is necessary.

On the other hand, music and theatre is not a waste of money, since they are an integral part of a society’s cultural and intellectual development and amusement. Firstly, music and theatre are the foundation of the society, or it can be said as a reflection of the cultural heritage of the society. So, investing in such trait cannot be claimed as wastage. Moreover, promoting more people to learn such arts will have a positive impact on people’s intelligence and reduce the stress level. Both participant and viewer will be equally benefited because recent studies have proven that music has a heeling capacity. Lastly, it is a means of entertainment. People spend money to watch the show, music or theatre, this way what ever money is spent can be earned back. Thus, it is not a waste of money but in reality, it is an investment which will eventually pay back.

To conclude, although I agree with the fact that it is highly important for a government to invest in the public services, I also believe that art and theatre is also an integral part of the society, neglecting it completely will be not advisable. In fact, I opine that there should be proper funding in both sectors.