Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The government has a wide of responsibilities, including enhancing people's lifestyles in different shapes like better healthcare, convenient transportation, job creation, and making better cities for the inhabitant to spend their leisure time. Some people argue that funding on art projects is obsolete, and the government should concentrate on public services that a wider range of population get benefits. I do not agree with the statement because inhabitants in cities nowadays need more facilities to enjoy their time and one of the ways is that music, theatre should become accessible for different people.

The growth in public services, without any doubt, is essential for inhabitants in populated cities for several reasons. First, if public service becomes accessible, it would quickly the price of them dropped down. For instance, if the government heavily invested in public transportation, more people persuade them to use this mode of transportation instead of using their car. Consequently, the traffic jam will reduce, and the cities become less polluted. Besides, healthcare is an issue for some populations. If the government invest in building more hospital and more insurance coverage, it would be probably more fruitful for the people. As a result, the broader public services in populated cities makes life much more comfortable and healthier.

However, the mode of transportation or better healthcare is essential for people; they need music and theatre as a source of enjoyment. Because living in cities is now stressful. Most people work more than usual hours to manage their expenses. So, as a government, it has some responsibility for their mental health. If the government makes more cinema, or fund more public concerts in which more people could enjoy from the music, it would eventually lead to a better lifestyle. If families have more access to arts, including musics, theatre, it will give them more joy in life. Therefore, the arts, as a source of enjoyment for inhabitants, couldn’t dismiss.

In sum, though public transportation, affordable healthcare are essential for inhabitants which should consider by the government while they plan for investment, it is crucial to look widely to incorporate an extension of an art project as well.