Nowadays most people are not as fit and active, as they were in the past.

What are the main causes of this situation?

Suggest some possible solutions.

When compared to past people these days are less fit and active, this is for a variety of reasons, but, fortunately, there are ways we can deal with this problem.

In my opinion, the main reason for today’s people being less active and fit is because of their high dependency on modern-day technology. It has made peoples life much easier than ever. Consider the daily activities of a person in the past, they used to walk longer and did their daily jobs manually. People in this century depends mostly on vehicles to travel, then there are lifts and escalators instead of staircase which reduced people’s daily walking. Usage of various machines like washing machine, vacuum cleaner, dishwasher and so on has reduced household jobs.

Furthermore, brain activity has also considerably reduced when compared to the past generation. The activities which involved memory, for example, remembering the telephone numbers, grocery bills or important dates, are now fed into the gadgets, like laptops, notepads or smartphones. All adds up to an unfit and inactive generation.

Fortunately, there are things that can be done to solve some of these problems if they want. People can choose to walk and use the stairs more often. They can use a bicycle when travelling shorter distances or walk to their grocer, this will surely increase people’s daily activity. People also can add daily exercise into their routine which will ensure that they are physically active. In addition to this incorporating outdoor games, social involvements and memory games in life will bring considerable change in people’s life. These things need a change in one’s daily life in some big way, but they can lead to a healthier and energetic generation.

To conclude, there are lots of modern-day technologies which makes life easier which reduces daily activities. However, people can choose to live in good health and active by changing their lifestyle.