Nowadays most people are not fit and active enough, compared to the past. What are the main causes of this situation? Suggest some possible solutions.

Majority of population in today’s modern world is more active technically then physically. Health issues are arising at much higher rate as compared to previous decades. People are becoming less active and involved in outdoor activities and are getting lethargic. Indoor games and substitutes are becoming more popular in this generation of modern era.

Technology, no doubt, beneficial and miraculous has some negative effects like making people dependent upon machines not just for most of their work and but also entertainment. Mobile phones and computers have reduced the distances and people prefer to communicate and talk visually rather the travelling and going out. Instead of ground sports, online and offline games are preferred. New gadgets being introduced are attracting people and thus making them prone to physical games. Advancement in medical technology and new medicines have made it easy for people to cure illness and hence they become lazy, gaining fitness by taking pills and drugs rather than doing something involving movement of their body.

People should be provided platforms awareness about the consequences of this idle routine and practical platforms should be provided. Facilities should be provided to engage public physically in outdoor activities and improvision of fitness checkups must be done to promote the concept of healthy and active body. Sports competitions can be organized encouraging people to compete and participate attaining the goal of healthy lifestyle. Improvisions should be made to avoid unnecessary medical treatments for the problems that could be cured by physical treatment like exercises and physiotherapy.

To put it in a nutshell, people should be educated about the necessity of physical activities and introduced to the principle fact that a healthy body has a healthy mind. Exercise and sports should be held regularly at all levels from school to offices and people should be encouraged to avail these opportunities for better and fit life.