People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Colleges and universities around the world have been attended by people for numerous reasons such as,

to enhance knowledge in their field of studies, to seek new opportunities and have a fresh experience. This essay will

examine in detail the reasons behind people going for colleges or universities.

Knowledge enhancement and employment are the most popular cause for enrolling for higher-education. For example, those who have studied commerce in their schooling would register for bachelors of commerce in colleges or another relevant course to gain a broad knowledge in their respective domain. Furthermore, in many countries without having a bachelor's degree, a person can neither enrol for higher studies nor seek employment in a reputed organisation.

Career advancement could be another primary reason behind people taking up higher education at a university or a college. The motivation behind this would be to gain a sound understanding in the field of work they are engaged in,

which will help to perform their work efficiently, make better-informed decisions and progress to the next level.

As a result, they will be in a better position to earn a higher remuneration and promotion. Another reason that persuades a person to opt for a college is a career change. For instance, if a person would like to change their field say,

from core accounting to finance, then he or she would take up master's in finance or other professional courses, like

Chartered accountancy or Chartered Financial Analyst, to gain knowledge and secure employment.

To conclude, people join colleges or universities for various objectives, like knowledge enhancement, job placement, career

advancement or to seek fresh opportunities. There are many sub-factors in turn drive towards their primary objectives, say detailed knowledge and understanding, increased remuneration and job satisfaction.