People should be allowed to continue to work for as long as they want to, and not be forced to retire at a particular age such as 60 or 65 Do you agree or disagree?

Age cannot be a factor in determining person’s retirement age or one’s ability to work even at the age of 60 or 65. People should not be barred from undertaking work, if they are mentally and physical sound. In my opinion, I agree that, people who can effectively and efficiently perform work related tasks should be considered an asset.

Firstly, as per the labor laws worldwide 65 is the maximum age determined for an employee retirement. However, this seems impossible because in today’s economic recession and sky-rocketing inflation conditions; it is difficult to run household chores, if one stops working. For instance, in Pakistan, labor laws states 60 years as the retirement age, but people still render their services to make both ends meet. Secondly, older people are shrewd and have rich experience in their line of work have high-level of business acumen therefore, companies should retain them.

On the contrary, a fraction of people; comprises majority of youth are of the opinion that, older people are one of the reason of unemployment, and should voluntarily resign and if not should be forced to do that. They believe that, older people are holding on positions in corporate world thus leaving limited room for new graduates who are entering into the job market. This however, is not the actual reason for the unemployment rather; it is a demand and supply gap. Numbers of students graduating are far more than the number of jobs available and this is creating job deficit.

To sum it up, I believe governments should devise better policies in terms of the labor laws and taking retirement should be on employee’s discretion. As long as health allows they should carry on. Better employment prospects should also be introduced to cater new work force.