Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

One mindset of people believes that provision of separate school education for both genders is a good idea. However, the other mindset thinks completely opposite and sees mixed gender schooling a part of greater learning and benefits. I believe, mixed schooling is the way forward and it should not be considered taboo.

On one hand, co-education has long been a part of heated debate among public, educationists and parents. People who greatly emphasize on mixed schooling believe that, this sort of educational set-up enhances confidence building, tolerance towards opposite gender and unlimited exchange of ideas. They believe, it instills importance of gender equality in young minds which is extremely necessary in today’s age.

On the contrary, one school of thought opposes the idea of mixed schooling. They believe, separate schooling allows students to focus more on studies. They think that in a mixed study environment student loses focus because of an attraction to opposite gender which ultimately leads to poor overall performance. They consider separate education a catalyst in major scientific breakthroughs.

In my opinion, we have evolved in a better society and human beings in past few decades. Both men and women have different capabilities. Mixed schooling has proved beneficial in enhancing students’ cognitive and social abilities. According to a recent survey by Oxford University Press students who have studied in co-education performed better on social interaction index as compared to those who have studied in a separate environment. They even performed better on group case studies.

To sum it up, it is very important for both men and women to serve together in all walks of life. Women can be a pilot, soldier or sailor and men can be a make-up artist, designer or a cook.