People should follow the local customs and traditions, when they come to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that immigrants ought to respect and keep up traditions and rituals of a host country. I completely agree with this idea because it helps newcomers to intergrade in a new community much faster and feel included in as well.

First, it is obvious that if a person wants to be accepted and found their place under the sun in a strange land, they should make an attempt in understanding and utilizing customs, laws and appropriate type of behaviour of the hosting land. It would be totally wrong trying to force their own traditions on local inhabitants. For instance, some foreigners arriving from Muslim society to western countries might fight against those women who wearing open-closes. It can be considered totally unacceptable as they have to respect local culture and vise versa those who immigrate to Arabic countries have to keep in mind cultural differences of their countries.

Second, taking part and accepting new ways of life such as celebration of residential festivals and holidays or taking part in various activities let newcomers to realize themselves as part of the society. In addition, it is a great way to communicate with others and make useful connections. To illustrate, one of my friends who immigrated to the USA used to attend Sunday meetings at the neighbourhood church at the beginning of his stay in the country. As a result, he found a large number of new acquaintances and even friends which he has been keeping in touch with since those days.

In conclusion, I totally agree that every single person settling down in foreign country should follow the local traditions and cultural habits due to the fact it will be significantly helpful for further integration.