A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, there is a trend to judge people by their social and material status. It seems that such personality traits as kindness, honesty, braveness, modesty are no longer valuable. In my opinion, it is not a good option indeed because from my perspective, at the end only decent deeds matter, which does not always go along with a fortune.

First, some people might say that powerful and wealthy people are involved in charity. That is why it is appropriate to treat them differently with more respect than others. In fact, this is not the case for numerous prosperous people. For instance, everyone knows that Hollywood stars receive enormous pay checks; however, only a few of them such as Angelina Jolie are actively taking part in charity projects or adopting children.

Nevertheless, there are those who are not very rich, but have a heart of gold, kind, generous people dedicating their lives for helping others. Recently, I have seen an interview with a Russian girl with a toxic family background and despite the fact that her elder sister was drug-addicted, she stayed a good person in the core and moved to Africa to help homeless children.

Thus, the ongoing perception of the rich and people of power as a decent member of the society is wrong due to the fact that only character and good deeds are important and we should treat people accordingly without consideration if they are wealthy or not.

In conclusion, I completely disagree with modern values because all people are equal and only their behaviour matters.