Plastic bags bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment What damage does plastic do to the environment What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem

In recent times, the environment has been deteriorated through many factors, however, the biggest contributor is various usage of plastic on daily basis. Once the plastic is produced, none can destroy it without harming nature. Moreover, It is not only harmful to the environment but to all living beings, including humans, as well. Therefore every small effort from individual to the government level is helpful for the future.

There is a myriad of ways that Plastic harms planet Earth. And the most conspicuous one of those is that it is a non-biodegradable material and there is no reliable way to get rid of plastic wastage. For Instance, once an individual throws a used water bottle into a dustbin, the government takes it to a landfill or the ocean. It is estimated that by the year 2030, there will be more plastic in the ocean than living beings. Another crucial aspect is all the plastic waste leave behind microparticle of it, which is known as microplastic. Therefore, today every 9 out of 10 people has the presence of microplastics in their bloodstream and the portion of it is higher in waterlifes. If this continues, the whole food chain will be disturbed and consequently, life altogether will be threatened on the Earth.

This is a critical time for human life’s survival and to prevent an unimaginable catastrophe, various solutions must be implemented from the local to the global level. Primarily, at an individual level, everyone should avoid using plastic and rather include such materials that can be used multiple times. People can use metal or glass water bottles instead of plastic ones, clothes bags instead of plastic bags, and paper packaging rather than plastic packaging. Moreover, Government can roll out policies to ban certain types of plastic which are the most hazardous meanwhile, Government either launches such a research division to work on alternate solutions to plastic or can promote start-ups that are already trying to make a change. Even at the international level, different countries should share technologies and ideas to produce alternate environment-friendly materials.

Based on the aforementioned harmful impact of plastic and possible solutions, efforts from each individual will be helpful for mankind. Plastic usage can not be avoided completely, but absolutely it can be declined by replacing plastic with better materials.