Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There are many sports today such as the World Cup and the Olympics. Some believe that these events increase the emotional bond between nations and reduce tension between them.I will state my point in the following paragraphs.

First of all, it can be said that sport brings joy to the community and holding sports events enhances the unity of the countries.And it will ease the political tensions between countries.I remember in the 1990 World Cup the two South Koreans and North Korea competed.Although the North Koreans are not allowed to travel to South Korea, the North Koreans were unbelievably present at the Seoul City Stadium and encouraged their team.The people of North Korea, with tears streaming down, have shown that they are just an ordinary football cheerleader and have no regard for the tensions in the political relations of the two countries.And this shows the impact of sports competitions on enhancing unity among nations.

On the other hand, such competitions raise tensions between countries, such as, when there is competition between Korea and Japan, political tensions between countries increase.And the people of the two countries are moving away from each other emotionally and in solidarity.As a result, negative feelings of patriotism among the people of every country increase and these emotions seem as aggressive behavior among players and spectators.And each team blames the people of the other country for the tension.

In conclusion,I believe it is true that sports competitions increase the emotional spirit and relationships between nations. But sometimes the tension between them widens.