At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do you think that the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently some nations around the globe have more young people as compared to the number of the elderly. From my perspective, this situation brings several beneficial consequences for the rapid development of the nation; however there are few demerits as well.

Industrialization in any country would require a large number of young people’s mind and energy. Either for the construction work of transport infrastructure or for the rapid development in the field of science and technology, the requirement of workforce would be unavoidable. Such workforce should possess an ability to work industriously, and this kind of characteristic is found only in the men at the age of 20-50. Therefore, underdeveloped countries, where the number of young people makes the larger fraction of their total population, can exploit them in transforming their nation into industrialized nation in a short period. For example, Indonesia has two-thirds of its population falling into the category of young adult people; hence they can employ them for developing several infrastructure essential for their nation.

On the other hand, there are some demerits also if the country fails to utilize them properly. For instance, in absence of employment opportunities, such age people are apt to involve in criminal activities, which creates a sense of insecurity among the residents. This would intimidate business persons, engineers, researchers, and other professionals, and ultimately they would migrate to other developed countries seeking a peaceful environment to live in. In Nepal, for instance, every year thousands of professionals are leaving to other nations since the country has been terrorized by the jobless teenagers and the adults, who have been kidnapping people for money.

In conclusion, adult’s population is boon for all nations, especially for poor countries, which could be utilized in the developmental process. Nonetheless, countries can suffer, unless they are provided with ample job opportunities.