“Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued by some individuals that researching and treating infections involves huge amount of money, therefore, it should be better used in improving precautionary steps. I completely disagree with the notion because of the fast outcome of medicinal treatments and preventive steps are not fully proven.

To begin with, research on curing people with medicinal treatments involves huge amount of budget and its rapid actions against infections are effective. Numerous doctors and different medical equipment are working every day to cure people from infections around the world and the speed of action against infection is commendable as compared with preventive steps. For instance, small medical pills are quick in action to cure people from diseases and severe health conditions rather than taking various precautionary measures to prevent possibilities of infection.

Similarly, prevention does not ensure the human safety at all stages. Precautions are difficult to maintain especially in dense populated regions like India and China, where masses movement is huge and communicable diseases are high and at risk levels. Therefore, it is evident that treatment and research on deadly infections must continue to cure people from health related infections. For example, malaria infection spread is common in India and every year the cases of hospitals with malaria increases during rainy season, even after making people aware on precautionary steps against infection.

In conclusion, I do not believe that we need to spend more money in a defensive approach to save people from the risk of infection instead continue spending on research and treatments because of the reasons mentioned in above paragraphs.