Prevention is better than cure. Research and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, there is an alarming rise in the number of people suffering from many ailments. Some people argue that government should invest the money in conducting public awareness campaigns rather than spending the huge amount on research and treatment. While I agree that increasing awareness about preventive measures is more economical and efficient, I believe that it should not be done at the cost of research and treatment of diseases.

On the one hand, not all diseases can be prevented through public awareness. There are numerous diseases such as cancer, polio, genetic anomalies and road accidents that need urgent medical treatment. Moreover, treatment of many diseases is still not known, and it is of vital importance to develop new medicines and technologies to save human lives. With the help of advanced vaccinations, now India has become a polio-free nation, hence proving the necessity of investment in the medical research and treatment.

On the other hand, there are several diseases that can be prevented by imparting sufficient health education and teaching preventive measures. Hitting the cause at its root is the ultimate solution to any problem. Certain communicable diseases like typhoid, cholera, AIDS and dengue can be prevented by instilling the knowledge of sanitation and hygiene and taking some proactive measures. Government should launch health campaigns motivating citizens to live a healthy life. Recently, the World Health Organization conducted a study that showed the massive campaign on “Harmful effects on Smoking“, which was run globally, actually reduced the incidents of Tuberculosis by thirty percent.

To conclude, advanced medical technologies, no matter how expensive, are essential for treating certain serious diseases for saving precious human lives and health education and campaigns also play a pivotal role in controlling diseases. Therefore, government should strike the balance of funding both methods in order to make a better and healthy nation.