All parents want the best opportunities for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children skills but others think that having a range of subjects is better for a children’s future. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Striving for the success, freedom and happiness of children, parents are constantly putting their best efforts to give their children the best of everything. While some people consider that schools should focus on teaching skills to children, there are others who believe subjective knowledge to be more important. In my opinion, I believe that both a variety of subjects and certain skill based learning is vital for the overall development of the students.

On the one hand, many think that it is easier to live a life if one has already learned the necessary skills during school days. Certain skills, namely, communication and teamwork, can best be acquired during the tender age of the children. Moreover, activities like, dancing, singing and sports, brings out the hidden talent of the kids, with some people making such activities as their profession. Nowadays more schools are emphasizing on interpersonal skills and extra-curricular activities as students cannot learn these virtues from books and acquiring these abilities is essential to stand out of the crowd.

On the other hand, curriculum aids students to gain knowledge about their culture, history, surroundings and world. As children have fast-paced learning capability in initial years of their age, it is considered best to inculcate in them all the basic and important knowledge of different subjects. Take, for instance, the Indian curriculum which is found to be most effective in intellectual development of students by offering children a range of subjects to study in schools. Furthermore, it has been seen that new subjects are added to the study programme time to time, as per the latest advancements and demands of the society.

In conclusion, for a bright future, a child needs to master certain social-emotional, intellectual and academic skills and therefore, it is necessary for schools to strike a balance between the range of subjects and extra-curricular activities offered to students, in order to assist them in their overall development.