Providing a national system in a country where the unemployed receive a regular payment only encourages people not to seek work and puts an unreasonable strain on a country's financial resources.

Discuss this statement and give your opinion.

Aiding the unemployed by allocating a fixed remuneration has been a hot potato since the second millennium. There are myriad reasons which point to the notion that this system should not be implemented. I opine that implementing such a policy would create chaos in the country.

To commence with, One of the prominent reasons why a such system should be abolished is because it will lead to anarchy. In other words, any government which tries to fulfill the need of the unemployed would put exorbitant pressure on the finances of the country. In other words, they will no longer be able to allocate funds towards other sectors like education and health care. In some situations, the country might end up being bankrupt and then would have to rely on funding from Union nations.

Moreover, when people get to know about such schemes, they would decide to stay home and reap the rewards of such payments without shedding a single sweat. On top of that, people would misuse this system and find loopholes in the rules to benefit from it even when they might not be unemployed. Secondly, the places where this system was started on a trial basis saw a surge in the number of corruption cases which can be detrimental and hazardous not only for the country but also for its citizens.

Lastly, people who diligently work and earn their livelihood will oppose such a scheme as they are the ones who pay the taxes and help run the country. They would not want their money to go awry as they expect the government to provide them with the necessary amenities. This would ultimately lead to protests and can cause a paramount conundrum in the nation.

In recapitulation, despite some suggestions to implement such a system for the betterment of the unemployed, I deem that the drawbacks of it are far more and hence such a system will not be a boon for the nation in the longer run.