Q ) Many people work long hours , leaving very little time for leisure activities .

Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages ?

A large number of people devote more time to work and are left with extremely less time to involve themselves in hobbies and leisure activities. In my opinion, working long hours can bring about problems for the health and social life of an individual compared to any advantages that it might bring .

Admittedly, there are some basic benefits of working all the time of the day.

Firstly, it can lead to success in professional life and can enhance the chances of promotion. This enables more income at their disposal and might lead to a better standard of living in the society. Secondly, As parents are role models for their children, sometimes children can learn important life skills like hardwork and dedication from their parents.

Nevertheless, the advantages stated above, I believe that people could suffer serious drawbacks from working most of the time in the day. one potential problem is that their health is bound to suffer to a great extent. At present, people are undergoing mental health problems like depression and anxiety owing to undue stress taken at work and not giving themselves a chance to unwind during leisure time. Also people who have a sitting job have developed problems like cervical, back pain, obesity and eyesight.

Another obvious issue of not engaging in a hobby is that their social life gets disrupted . In other words, people are deprived of the opportunity to reconnect with their friends or meet new people during leisure time. As a result, an individual’s interpersonal and emotional skills fail to develop. For example, with the advances in technology, people stay connected at home, prioritizing work even during family vacations and picnics and, for this reason, they get isolated from their immediate surroundings.

In conclusion, while there are plus points to having paying attention to work most of the time, too much would be suffered. Engaging in leisure activities is a must for de-stressing oneself and maintaining social relations .