Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages

Many people toil at jobs for extensive hours, thereby having hardly any time for leisure pursuits. Just like everything else, working long hours also has its pros and cons. However, I opine that the disadvantages of working long hours outstrip its advantages.

There are myriad positive aspects of working long hours. One key benefit is increasing earning which gives people’s budget a boost, helping them clear their debts and other expenses. They can also set aside some money for a pension plan. Apart from this, it can help to move up the promotion ladder. In this cut-throat corporate world, putting in extra hours is an excellent approach to impress upper-tier management. Take my brother as an example, he won his well-deserved promotion to chief executive due to working longer hours.

On the contrary, the drawbacks of working longer hours cannot be overlooked. Fast and foremost, people with sedentary working hours can severely ruin both physical and mental health. In simple words, it increases the risk of heart disease and is as detrimental to health as smoking. Likewise, many research work has discovered that intense stress of work can cause depression, insomnia, and other mental health concerns. Secondly, it can lead to job dissatisfaction as excessive overtime can drain energy and creativity, which in turn reduces productivity and one may stagnate in career. Last but not least, working longer hours significantly reduces personal time; which translates into less sleep, less time for family members and socializing. A recent study shows that excessive overtime can cause serious family-conflict and the divorce rate augments accordingly.

In fine, although there are significant benefits to working long hours, it is clear that the downsides outweigh the good points. On balance, we should maintain a healthy work-life balance because it is the key to health, relationships, productivity and ultimately work performance.