Q) Some people think that because children find subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult, they ought to be optional instead of compulsory.

To what extent do you agree?

Certain people are of the view that difficult subjects such as mathematics and philosophy should not be made mandatory, rather students can opt them if they want. In my opinion, the compulsion of studying these subjects can have adverse effects on students, and therefore, should be restricted to studying the basic level.

One point to consider is that each student has different intellectual capability, so studying tough subjects should not be made obligatory on everyone. As students vary in their grasping power, all might not be able to master it and get good grades in the exams. As a result, students not only get disheartened but also lose interest in that subject.

Another point to consider is that making hard subjects optional would result in less stress and tension on the minds of students. At present, innumerable students are experiencing anxiety and depression problems due to the pressure to perform and excel in subjects such as mathematics and philosophy. Making them optional would definitely improve the psychological health of students.

However, basic understanding of mathematics and philosophy is required in different situations in life, hence they can be included in the curriculum. Moreover, this will enable students to explore the subject and obtain superficial knowledge of that subject.

In conclusion, although providing basic knowledge of mathematics and philosophy proved to be beneficial for students , it need not be made obligatory as it poses a serious threat to the student’s mental health and demoralises them.