Recent research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes after they are released.

Why is this the case?

What can be done to solve this problem?

The latest research on criminal behavior reveals that the majority of them tend to commit a new crime after serving their sentences. In this essay, I will consider what the reasons are behind it and what measures can be implemented in order to improve the situation.

First, the prison was never able to improve someone’s behavior because prison is the place where criminals meet more experienced ones and learn from them how to break the law. In addition, they build useful connections in the criminal world spending a large amount of time together while being imprisoned. For example, a person being convicted for a minor crime would definitely meet people who committed severe crimes such as homicides, rapes, kidnapping, and similar ones, who would influence them in a negative manner.

Second, most countries do not have rehabilitation programs for former criminals. As a result, they cannot fit in and find a decent job, a place for living, or even might be non-accepted by society. This leads to the point when a person having a criminal record may feel desperate to build a normal life and because of the inability to do it, they commit another crime. For example, one of my former schoolmates committed his first petty crime at a very young age, then later without having an education and not being able to find a job started to steal cars.

One of the ways to tackle this problem can be implementing different approaches towards unserious offenses such as public works in hospitals, cleaning, and other places demanding free hands. In addition, it has to be demonstrated to them that good deeds are paying off and there is another way of living happy and satisfying lives. For instance, the government might launch a social program for juvenile offenders that will teach them a profession and probably provide a creative space where they could discover art. As well, a similar rehabilitation program can be launched for former prisoners in order to help them to be accepted as part of society.

In conclusion, being served a sentence with hard-core criminals and picking their habits and skills up, as well as not being able to find a job, due to these reasons, released first-time offenders tend to commit more crimes. This is because the government should establish a rehabilitation program for them that would help them to become law-obedient citizens.