In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do shopping

Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, shopping complex are gaining popularity as a lot of people visit supermarkets or plazas for purchasing articles or several items but somewhere, it has negative consequences on the retail store. This essay will discuss both the benefits as well as an adverse effect on development in detail.

Todays malls become the identity of the metropolitan area because cities get popularity due to the construction of various malls in the large space and that is the reason for the attraction of many visitors. Besides, shopping a lot of customers spent their leisure time in window shopping and also, explore new products existing in the market. These centres contribute a lot towards positive development, not only facilities all the items at one place that saves crucial time of people but also increase the purchasing power of them by offering various discount offers on a range of products and make available good quality items at reasonable price. For instance, India's largest Pacific mall situated in Mumbai lure many celebrities due to which brand get promoted and help to generate funds. As a result of these factors, enormous advancement can be observed.

On the other hand, shopping malls put the business of small local shops in a perilous state. It has a profound effect on the life of many businessmen as it badly affects the source of their livelihood. Also, a large area is required to construct a mall or centre that results in cut down the trees and exploitation of the environment.

To sum up, even though, shopping malls are on all the rage but it has adverse consequences on local stores as well. This essay discussed the positives and negatives development. I precise, despite having some positive impact it has more harmful effects as it grabbing the business of retail outlets persistently.