In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.

Is this positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Behavioral changes among the customers are observed recently where they prefer big shopping malls for shopping which resulted in shut-down of small-scale businesses. This change in the overall market is a positive development both from customers’ perspective and sellers’ perspective. In this essay, both of the perspectives will be discussed.

Consumers tend to travel distant places for purchasing desired products or services. Here, large shopping centers broadens the offerings by ensuring numerous number of shops selling the same kind of goods and services. A youth, for instance, can travel to a mobile phone selling market and analyze among different brands before making the final purchase decision. Moreover, shopping centers not only increases the availability of same type of things, but also promises all other things that a customer might find useful. Super markets, for example, generally have the system to display product category based on floors. In other words, shops are located in a specific area of the market so that the visitors can comfortably roam and buy required items. Large malls have increased a customer’s buying power by offering more deals at a single place.

As for the sellers, large shopping centers consist of many small sellers. Usually those sellers are those who used to operate their businesses all over the city. With the changing behavior of the customers, the sellers have relocated their operation and secured a place in a shopping mall. A placement in such a business center has increased the number of customers visiting in a day compared to that of previous location, which also increased sales. For instance, a small perfume seller used to have daily turnover of $100 is now increased to $700 which is 7 times increase than the previous figure. Though rent in shopping malls is high, but the voluminous number of customers and the promising sales make it worth having business in a shopping center.

To conclude, both the customers and the sellers are flexible to changes. The buyers seek for comfort in shopping, thus prefers larger shopping malls to have everything in one place and the sellers take the advantage of getting more customer flow by relocating to such places. However, businesses, not reacting to such changes, might face a declining sales, followed by loss in near future.