Rich nations should help poor nations in order to alleviate poverty and related issues. However, some people believe that it is the sole responsibility of poor nations to address this issue. Do you agree or disagree?

There are numerous underdeveloped nations where poverty and other social issues are more prevalent. A section of people believes that developed countries should extend their helping hand towards poor nations to alleviate these concerns; however, others disagree stating that the onus is on the nation itself, and I am in agreement with the later notion.

On the one hand, progressed nations have a huge amount of money. Any individual would support the phenomenon of helping deprived countries by providing basic necessities on the humanitarian ground. Evidently, many knowledge-based economies have provided a better infrastructure for developing education systems and hospitals, and such types of support would definitely help the local government to raise the standard of living of local folks. What is more, educated youngsters boost the economy by creating employment opportunities and reduce poverty.

On the other hand, there are countless arguments against helping poor nations. Firstly, a majority of such countries have political unrest and as a result, financial aid is not distributed to the needy ones due to corruption. For instance, Somalia is a country suffering from malnutrition and exaggravated poverty even though aided several times by a number of International Agencies. Secondly, it would result in an increased dependency of the local government on the wealthy nations. Local councils would never try to combat vivid social issues on their own as they are in the belief that capitalized countries would help them.

Furthermore, taxpayers of the first world believe that it is non-ethical to divert the fund from the public purse to other people who have not contributed to the tax. In other words, it is a discriminatory act to help others and not the ones who are the real beneficiaries of the tax paid.

In conclusion, considering the facts, I believe that poor nations have to find the root causes to combat poverty and other related issues. Consistent efforts would result in the economic progress in the long run.