Some people think that uniforms in school is unnecessary and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and examples from your own experience.

Since long, uniforms in school is a topic of discussion among people. A section of people opines that dress code in educational institutes is not required; however, I am in complete disagreement with their opinion. This essay highlights the facts closely.

There are countless benefits of having a uniform in the school. To begin with, a sense of discipline inculcates in students as they get dressed up as school etiquettes. Secondly, a dress code abolishes social differences among pupils. Evidently, due to globalization and urbanization, nowadays, every education center has children coming from different regions, having varied cultures as well as from vivid economic background. Ergo, uniforms act as a social leveler in schools and reduces the gap between the rich and the poor students.

Furthermore, the dress code plays a significant role in security aspects. Management and security persons could easily identify an entry of any miscreants on the school premises. Additionally, tutees that often bunk off the class could be easily identified based on the school uniform. In other words, wearing the uniform acts as a deterrent for truants for being caught by family members or else. What is more, such type of setting is cost-effective for parents because much investment is not required on clothing through out the year.

Conversely, people support a uniform ban in schools with a viewpoint that it snatches students' right to freedom of expression. Studies have ascertained that an individual gains more confidence and can express his individuality more effectively when dressed up according to his dressing style or culture. However, this could be dealt with by fixing one day in a week for students to wear their choice of dressing.

In conclusion, there are numerous merits of school uniforms. As the advantages of implementing school uniforms outweigh the disadvantages, it should be a norm for teaching institutes.