The role of education is to prepare children for the modern world Schools should cut art and music out of the curriculum so that children can focus on useful subjects such as information technology To what extent do you agree

In a world ehcih has become more and more technologically sophisticated, some people point out that subjects like music and part should not be taught anymore, since they don not reflect the needs our society requires. Although it is true that our everydaylife relies on technologies much more than in the past, cutting down on art and music does not basically make sense.

One one hand, people need arts. Thousands have passed since our ancestors depicted scenes of hunting on the wall of a cave and although they had to struggle with surviving, they felt the need to leave a fingerprint of their existence on this planet. Today, not much has changed. Our priority is not more surviving, but we feel sometimes the need to escape from reality and to feed our soul and this can happen only trough arts: it can be a book, a painting, a song.

Therefore, cutting art from school program could be a fatal error.

On the other hand, practically speaking, around art and music revolves a world made of interests, money, ambitions, schools, in one word, an economy. Painter need pencils and paper to draw, musicians need musical instruments. Not to mention, the weight of another industry such as the movie industry which creates revenues in the order of millions of dollars.

To sum up, it would be not only completely wrong to cancel arts program but I think that children should be encouraged to cultivate their artistic side.