In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts while boys like science. What are the reasons for this trend and do you think this tendency should be changed?

It is generally seen in educational institutes that science class is full of boys whereas arts class is overwhelmed by girls. This indicates the trend that boys are more inclined towards science subjects and girls like arts related subjects. I believe that this gender polarization for particular subjects is disturbing and should be discouraged.

There are various reasons for choosing such kind of subject combination by boys or girls. First of all, boys are considered rough tough and feel pride to do more practical oriented work despite of working conditions. Boys do not hesitate to travel extra mile in order to get the real experience of subject or topic. For instance, my brother who is civil engineering student measure the road length or alleviation under extreme summer for getting to know more about the subject and his fellow girls students do not like to suffer in hard-weather for practical knowledge.

Secondly, parents also motivate girls to opt for arts subjects and boys for subjects like math, physics. As a result, girls liking towards the subjects like home-science, sociology increased and later on they get inclined for these subjects in school or university. Similar approach applies for boys where they are either forced or self-choose the science subjects. However, sometime students regrets of giving preference to external influence choice.

This gender wise liking or forcing towards the particular subjects is disturbing and unacceptable. Some students who are good at math but being a girl, forced to read the non-science subject and do not do well in the academics. Furthermore, such social behavior creates the imbalance in professional job market. For example, IT jobs are related to engineering and good for girls but very few girls are found in IT field.

To recapitulate, there is wide gap between boys and girls opting for science subjects or arts subjects. Students should select their subjects according to their choice and by doing so such imbalance can be reduced.