Some people believe school children should be given multiple short vacations while others believe they should get one long vacation. Give advantage for both and your point of view.

Vacations always delight the children and they get chance to refresh themselves. What kinds of vacations are appropriate for student? Some people believe that short breaks are more useful while others hold the opinion that one long vacation offers more advantages. I will discuss both views and give my opinion.

People who assert that short holidays are more delightful, have some valid points. Firstly, it breaks the monotony of the school schedule and offer opportunity to get some rest from busy and stress schedule, and rejuvenate for next term. Secondly, children get the time to cover the topic or subject which either missed or did not understand well. For instance, my daughter note-down the doubts which causes difficulties or not clear during school session and emphasis on them in doubt session organized in short breaks. Finally, children may start to work on their hobbies and attend classes like dancing, painting, skating etc. and hone these skills in free –time.

However, small vacation may not be liked by students’ particularly higher secondary or university level as students come from far distant places or may be different country. One long vacation is required for them to visit their native place and meet relatives and parents. For example, my nephew who is doing MS from Harvard, travel to India once in a year in two months long vacation. Besides, pupils pursuing professional course also need to gain real experience and these is no other best time than long holidays to get hands-on training. In addition, students who wish to earn money and share fee with their guardian can also work part-time for fulltime in long break.

To recapitulate, though short break seems to be better option as students get refreshed at frequent intervals, long vacation provides one stretched time which could be utilized for various purposes and I favor the long breaks.