Science tells us about the activities which are good for our health and others which are bad. Millions of people all over the world know this and still do unhealthy activities. Why do you think this is and what can be done to change it?

The modern world in which we live has seen the development of science in all aspects. There are numerous scientific papers introducing activities that are either advantageous or disadvantageous for our health. However, there are a high majority of people who disregard scientific facts and continue unhealthy practices. This essay seeks to enlist a few reasons behind this negative trend, followed by feasible solutions.

While there are a plethora of reasons as to why people ignore the scientific opinion regarding this subject, a few of them are prominent. Firstly, most healthy activities are strenuous. Due to the evolved lifestyle of today’s generation, people have the tendency to be more indolent. Hence, they tend to distance themselves from working out and playing sports and they are more accustomed to playing video games instead. Secondly, the mechanical way of life these days scarcely allows people to have extra time. Therefore, they apt for faster, unhealthier means. For example, due to lack of time, the majority of people are forced to use cars or fast public transport instead of riding bicycles or walking in order to commute. Last but not least, many people do unhealthy activities simply because they are more fun and exciting. Take a concept such as eating as an example. Tasting an unhealthy cuisine is usually an exciting experience, whereas consuming healthy food such as salad is boring.

Although the aforementioned attitude has deteriorated the public's health, there are methods to combat it. First and perhaps the most effective method is to remind people regarding the drawbacks of unhealthy activities on a higher scale. Erecting informative billboards in cities and highways is a step in the right direction. An alternative way to change this trend is the offering of free gym passes to the employees by the companies, which encourages the workers to work-out more often. Lastly, raising the salary or giving a bonus to employees that follow a healthier lifestyle and do not have unhealthy habits like smoking or drinking can certainly be helpful.

In conclusion, many people tend to do unhealthy activities despite the recommendation of scientific research. Nevertheless, this trend can be changed if the right endeavors such as those mentioned above are undertaken.