Science will soon make people live up to 100 or even 200 years. Some believe this is a good thing while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Modern science will soon extend the average life of humans to 100 years and above. Some would argue that this development will bring benefits. Others, however, say otherwise. While reaching over 100 years old allows children and parents to stay together longer, I believe that this development will put a huge strain on younger generations.

On the one hand, people support the scientific advance to increase life expectancy because they want to stay alive and live with their families for a longer period. Regularly, people will die at the age of 70 and they therefore only have around 50 years living with their children if they have family in their 20s. Hence, when people reach beyond this limit, they will be able to have more time with their offspring. For example, a survey showed that 80% of residents in Ho Chi Minh City desire to have extended years with their families. However, I think that this development will bring burdens to children.

On the other hand, some people do not believe that this scientific achievement is a good thing because they are afraid of the strains put on younger generations. In other words, older people living longer means that children will have to work harder in order to earn money and support them while they also have to spend more time looking after their parents at home. For instance, a study on five families with members above 105 years old in Vietnam indicated that the second generation felt extremely overwhelmed with the burden to make incomes and take care of their elderly at the same time. Therefore, I believe that people should not be forced to live up to 100 years.

In conclusion, although it helps parents and children stay longer together, increasing humans’ life span will only put more burdens on the shoulders of the young.