A serious problem affecting countries right across the globe is the lack of water for drinking, washing and other household uses. Why do many countries face water shortages, and what could be done to alleviate the problem?

These days, water scarcity is increasingly at an alarming rate. Some environment scientists pointed out that people are facing a shortage of water across the globe due to various reasons. This essay will discuss why most counties are having a shortage of water and put forward several solutions to this problem.

To begin with, multiple reasons why most countries are facing water scarcity. The prime reason is that the population increases at a massive rate across the globe; therefore, to cater to the housing need, most counties have expanded urban areas by deforestation. Due to which, counties today are having drought periods with no rainfall, as a result, water scarcity is prevailing in most countries. A recent article suggests that 30% of the area in Australia is covering with drought because of the expansion of urbanization, thus people in northern Australia are struggling to find water for household chores. A final reason is that people in most counties are not aware of the consequences of the shortage of water; therefore, they don’t pay attention while using it for household activities. A good example of this is that people often wash their cars very often, and waste a hefty amount of water without caring for the importance of its usage.

On the other hand, there are two primary solutions which are highly recommended for the countries to adopt to overcome this problem. Firstly, the countries to avoid deforestation, and consider vertical expansion to tackle the housing requirement. It is often claimed, such as, that Highrise towers are the best option to accommodate most people within a nominal area of the land. Finally, countries should launch media campaigns to the aware general public about the importance of water, increase water tariff, and impose a hefty fine for when of over usage of water. In Additional, they should prepare a holistic water master plan because this strategy will help them out to check the entire life cycle of the water in the countries starting from its source to distribution, economic usage, recycling, and reuse, and finally return to the natural environment.

In conclusion, although there are a plethora of reasons that restrict the water supply in the countries, I presume that general awareness among people, comprehensive water master plan and construction of vertical infrastructure projects could help to solve this problem.