Several languages die every year. Many people feel this is a positive trend and that a world with fewer languages promotes harmony and understanding between people. Analyze both sides of this argument and provide your opinion.

Provide specific examples and explanation to support your answer.

Language is the pivotal vessel by which people communicate with each other. Each year, several languages become extinct, which is considered a positive trend by some people since it results in a world with better harmony between its dwellers. I oppose this belief due to several reasons which will be discussed in this essay.

To begin with, the loss of a language means losing the history of the nation who used to speak that language. Important events and anecdotes of a nation, which happened in the past, are passed through generations by many vessels, such as books or poems. However, language plays the most significant role in doing what was said by provers or common folk stories. Thus, what is actually happening when a language is evading is not only just extinction of some words and grammars, but the enriched history of a nation, which undoubtedly is a great loss. This matter can simply be exemplified by the book named “Shahnameh”, which consists of poems in Persian, helping save the language as well as the history of Persians.

Moreover, fewer languages result in a less astonishing world. One of the most fascinating beauties of mankind is the variety in people and societies. What distinguishes a society is the culture if that society, which is saved and passed through by proverbs and expressions. Therefore, when a language is lost, the culture of speakers of that language is gone, being a fiasco without a doubt.

Despite what was said, it must be taken into account that fewer languages have helped humans to advance in many aspects, such as science, in a faster pace nowadays. In the past, people were forced to learn many languages and dialects if they wanted to communicate with other people from other parts of the globe. However, nowadays, eradication of several languages has removed the burden of learning so many languages, easing up the communication between humans. As a result, humans cooperate better due to better communication and understanding, leading to higher rate of growth in every aspect.

To sum up, even though death of several languages has aided humans in achieving advancements, it is a negative trend. Every time a language dies, a culture and history of a nation dies with it.