Shopping has become new favourite pastime for young generation. Why is this the case? Should you encourage them to develop other hobbies too?

In recent years, shopping has gain popularity over other things. It is often argued that many people especially youngsters prefer to shop in their leisure time. This essay will examine the causes of this trend, and supports the argument that young crowd should be motivated to opt other creative activities.

To begin with, the most important factor for encouragement towards shopping can be attributed to relating one's happiness with the materialistic pleasure. This is because buying new clothes and accessories has become a norm, and an asset which is directly evaluated with satisfaction and happiness. For instance, some people follow celebrities and copy their style to feel content and happy about themselves. In addition, purchasing a product is highly commercialised and encouraged through various medium, such as advertisement on television or internet. Owing to which an adolescent sense attraction towards these possessions.

Henceforth, it becomes necessary that this young generation should be taught the significance of diverting their energy to more productive hobbies, as there are several benefits associated with it. Firstly, these activities are source of self-awareness. The reason for this is that such undertakings gives a person time to realise potential of oneself. For example, adventure sports like hiking, cycling are intertwined with fitness and health. Secondly, innovative ideas are born when a person decides to spend time with oneself and does self-retrospection. To illustrate, a young age enthusiast realised his true caliber when he started to travel to different places on his own, and now this man is a famous entrepreneur.

In conclusion, Although shopping could lead to short-term happiness and satisfaction, it is a fact that young generation should be encouraged to develop other hobbies too because of the advantages it ensures for a healthy living.