Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. Some people think they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a fact that use of plastic bags has harmful effects on the ecosystem and is contributing to global warming. Many people often argue that the polyethylene shopping products should be banned to reduce the damage done to the environment. This essay agrees with the argument and will discuss the opinion in detail.

To begin with, the most important factor to stop the usage of plastic products can be attributed to the decrease in number of sea animals.This happens because at times plastic wastes are dumped in sea water, and then the aquatic animals consume them, which leads to their death. For instance, recently a dead whale was found on the coast of Philippines and upon inspection researchers concluded that 40kgs of plastic was present in the stomach of the mammal. Moreover, plastic is non-biodegradable and hence they cannot perish easily. These implications makes plastic a threat to marine life.

Furthermore, the pollution caused to the landfills proves to be a strong reason for banning the havoc of plastic bags. The increased utilisation of the material is leading to contamination of soil and ground water.Water, being such a crucial element for human survival, will no longer be fit for consumption if not protected from the detrimental effects of plastic. In addition, the plastic bags available in shopping stores are manufactured from chemicals that upon inflammation might affect the atmosphere and could add impurities to the surroundings.

In conclusion, the life wrenching effects of plastic on the land and sea, such as death of marine animals and devastation of soil and water, justifies why many people are against the usage of these products. Therefore, making it evident that banning the products could protect the ecosystem for better sustainability in the world.