Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. Some people think they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely debated that plastic bags should be banned as they pollute the environment. I vehemently espouse that the usage of plastic bags for shopping should be prohibited.

Ostensibly, the plastic bags are non-biodegradable products that mean it may take hundreds of years to decompose. Therefore, when the bags are buried into the land, it can make a land barren and it can take another hundred of years to revive that land or if thrown into a sea it may enter a food chain causing a harmful effect on marine life. Recent research by the agriculture scientists has shown that the quality and the quantity of the agriculture yield has fallen drastically because the crops are not able to penetrate in the soil and are not getting nutrients from the soil.

Furthermore, these plastic bags if burnt releases toxic chemicals which have a detrimental effect on the environment. these harmful products will be released into the air which gradually leads to dangerous ailments like cancer and other respiratory diseases. Looking at the scenario, a global organisation namely Hindustan Unilever of India has run a campaign that motivates people to discontinue using plastic bags and have placed bins to dispose of them.

To conclude, I am in favour that the usage of plastic bags should be completely stopped because of the unfavourable effects on the environment.