Should museums and art galleries be free of charge for the general public, or should a charge, even a voluntary charge, be levied for admittance?

Discuss this issue, and give your opinion

Some people argue that to get access to art museums an entrance fee or a voluntary cost should be taken from the people; while others say that, it should be free of cost. While free accessibility to museums is the best way to display the art to invite more tourists from all corners of the world, I believe to admit a minimum charge to be taken from the people because the government can invest more for maintenance.

On the one hand, people should access museums free of cost because this is the main attraction for tourists across the globe. This is to say, tourists from all over the world will be more enthusiastic to visit this place because it is free. There is also a benefit, due to this; individuals will learn massive knowledge about history. For instance, In Thailand, there is a museum called the golden gate, which is made of mud with ancient war equipment’s, and the age of this is 124 years. As per China times, due to lack of funds, they are facing difficulties to maintain it.

On the other hand, some say that people should be charged to get access to museums because it will help the government to keep the maintenance level at high standards. This means, with the money collected from sightseers will be invested to maintain the look of the museum. As a result, it will stay stronger for a longer period. For example, the Dragon house of Goa is one of the first museums in India. This is of dragon skeletons and they look new every year because of the proper maintenance. They charge a minimal amount of 10 rupees each for each individual and hence, they are capable of keeping it stronger for more than 200 decades.

In conclusion, some say cost must be there to enter museums while others say it should be free. However, I believe there should be a minimum cost to access these antique places because of maintenance in order to serve you better for more generations.